3G in Omaha

My last 3G in Omaha post is probably the most popular on the whole friggin’ blog, and I’m comforted that some people are as dorky as I am.

Unfortunately, it’s also the one I didn’t update when the switch was actually flipped.

So, it shall come as no surprise to anyone that 3G/HSDPA is now deployed in Omaha and has been for over a month.  There were delays, stops, forks in the road, and probably a few murders, but it all got figured out in the end.

For the record, HSDPA in Omaha is deployed ONLY on the 1900 Mhz band, as is 2G EDGE.  There is no 850 Mhz in Omaha to speak of, though that doesn’t mean they’ll someday augment the current network with some 850.  Of course, by the time they do, we’ll have 4G LTE and no one will care.

The speeds are…good.  Not great.  I’m certainly having a blast surfing the ‘Net on 3G, but it’s not as ZOMG SUPR AMAZIN like I was expecting.  Indeed, on my Nokia N95 and N82, both of which are limited to EDGE in the States, my browsing experience is only minimally worse than on my AT&T-branded Nokia 6650 with HSDPA 850/1900.  That said, I’m glad it’s here and am happy to take advantage of it.  The only significant difference in speed seems to be sending and receiving email.

The thing that sucks now is that I need to be more picky when I get new phones.  Before, my only requirement was quadband GSM.  Now, I require that and at least dualband 850/1900 HSDPA.  Nokia does a good job getting NAM versions of their Nseries line, so I think I’ll be safe.

Leave a Reply

