Vacation, Part Dos

Just when it couldn’t get much worse.

The first half of the day went off without much hitch. We left Dodge City, avoided the cow trucks, and made our way into New Mexico. Then some stuff happened…I don’t really remember. Lots of small, rural, dusty places that all looked the same and had the same rusted out cars and washing machines strewn around everywhere. Bleh.

We took some windy mountain road to get to Taos, which is some adobe-style city. It was a scenic road. Taos was a nice city. The bad part was…it was all booked up. Every single hotel.

There was some biker rally. Bikers from all over the solar system apparently flocked to this location because of Labor Day or Memorial Day or Valentine’s Day or whatever day is coming up. It’s not New Year’s Day, so there was no need for it to be this busy.

This was 5 pm. We had to high-tail it to the next city 50-some miles away to find accommodations.

Nothing. Full up. More friggin’ bikers.

By now it was 8 pm-ish.

We needed to eat. I definitely needed to eat. If I don’t eat, I get a migraine and I sure as heck don’t want another.

We stopped at an Arby’s and had to haul ass to Santa Fe—a destination we weren’t planning on arriving at for another two days.

We arrived at 9 pm-ish. Same story. No room at the inn.

We FINALLY (after nearly killing each other in the car because my mom and I are trying to figure out what to do and my dad, who has terrible night vision coupled with a bad back, was haunched over in the driver’s seat and was weaving in and out of lanes worse than normal) arrived at a hotel that had ONE room. The LAST room in the entire state.

It had only one bed.

So we had to cram ourselves in one bed and attempt to sleep through the night. I volunteered to sleep in the chair because I have VERY high standards when it comes to just about everything and I swear I’m the reincarnate of Felix Unger. I really hate public facilities of any kind, but I do make exception for hotels after a thorough going-through—and this bed’s sheets could have been used on CSI to solve at least nine crimes. Random hair all over the place. Suspicious-looking stains of various size and color. I improvised something, but I was not amused.

By now you’re probably thinking: What a friggin’ wuss. You’re right.

One Response

  1. Heh, I would’ve opted for the chair, too. Or, maybe even the backseat of the car.

Leave a Reply

