Time to gloat

I got a new computer on Friday and have been setting it up all weekend.

I was thinking of getting a new one for a while, but I’ve been very satisfied with my previous one. I had that one for six years and had modified it as best I could with extra RAM (only 1 GB, but that was a lot two or three years ago when I did it), and new graphics cards to play my games. The thing was, the technology that is commonplace now wasn’t invented six years ago, so there was nothing else I could add to it.

Another reality is that I’m not going to be living at home forever and would like something in preparation for that, since I don’t know if I’ll have enough money when that happens to buy anything. I also hate buying new computers (hypocritical, I know) since you have your entire life on that thing and must reinstall everything, which takes forever. I also hate upgrading computers–if I buy one, I don’t want to have to mess with it in the future.

So I wanted an ultra-high-specced computer that would last many many years (if the previous one lasted six years, this one should easily last me twice that).

I found some stuff online. HP has this thing where you can input various specifications into a custom-built machine and it spits out a price. I chose things I thought were good but also economical. It came to $1500, including a tower, keyboard/mouse and monitor. Pretty good price considering some of the specs I chose (quad-core processor, 3 GB RAM, GeForce 8800).

Then I went to Nebraska Furniture Mart. It’s a regional store that primarily sells—you guessed it—furniture, but it also has a gigantic electronics building. Truthfully, their prices aren’t that good. But I thought, what the heck?

The computer I found was the bargain of the century.

I found a HP with some of the same specs as the one I found on the Internet: Quad-core processor, 3 GB RAM, integrated WLAN (802.11a/b/g/n). But that’s where the similarities stopped. Instead of one DVD drive, it had two. Instead of Vista Premium, it had Vista Ultimate. Instead of a GeForce 8800 with 512 MB memory, it had a GeForce 8800 GTS with 1 GB memory. Instead of a 500 GB hard drive, it had a 1 TB hard drive.

All for only $1200.

Oh Em Gee.

After I picked my jaw up off the floor, I asked the salesperson quite frankly, “What’s wrong with this thing that it is so cheap?” He said it was the last one in the store and they wanted to get rid of it to make room for other models.

Good enough for me.

I snatched the computer (ok, technically I “bought” it since I wouldn’t have made it past the door if I had snatched it), which included a wireless keyboard and mouse, plus a 19-inch widescreen monitor which will be perfect as the TV screen when I move out. All for a few bucks over $1500—the price of the original system.

Sure, I forfeited a cell phone for this computer, but this was much more worth it. This computer will last me at least a decade and hopefully more.

8 Responses

  1. That is a sweet deal, LK. You did good!

  2. I think you’ll be very happy with your computer, and that’s a heck of a good price for all that you got with it! =)

  3. What, you can’t run fast enough with a computer and a 19″ monitor and find your car in the sea of insanity that is NFM and then actually find your way back out of the complex? I am saddened by this.

    Congrats on the new puter!!!

  4. Nice. Sounds like you got a great deal. I think it was worth forfeiting another cellphone.;p

  5. I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again- YAY for LK!

  6. Ooh, good!! You got a great deal and you’ve got a great pc!! Yay for you. 😀

  7. I am jealous. I only got a dual core, X1200, and 2 gb RAM.

  8. I feel so cheated! I bought my laptop through the uni and the system is a sham!

    On top of that, it all weighs freaking 10 pounds.

Leave a Reply

