Wrathful grapes

My mom works in a school library.  So, today, I get a voicemail from her asking me to bring her lunch to her because she forgot to bring it.  Easy enough.  It turned it was just a ploy for a much greater evil.

Well, this is where the library bit comes into play.  It seems they were liquidating some of their videos, and instead of throwing them away, she decided to keep it and send it home with me.

The movie?  “The Grapes of Wrath.”

I was subjected to the literary version of this in the eighth grade, and besides the sun expanding into a red giant and vaporizing the Earth, I can think of nothing more sinister than a cinematic version of “The Grapes of Wrath.”  For a book about dirt, it was way too long.  But a MOVIE?  Not even a boat chase sequence would be able to save it.

And if they included the entire CHAPTER about the damn turtle crossing the road, I’m going to break the VHS open and use the film to strangle myself.

Leave a Reply

